The US publishing deal

As promised, here’s the lowdown.

Dutton, an imprint of Penguin, is my new US publisher. Editor Ben Sevier has bought the rights to all five of my novels, plus two new titles. The backlist will be published as mass market paperback originals, the new books in hardback.

I couldn’t be happier. Evan Delaney is going to hit American bookshelves. And so are some new characters – because the novel I’m currently writing is a non-series book, a thriller set in San Francisco.

That’s my news. I’ll keep you filled in as the story develops.

16 responses to “The US publishing deal

  1. Great stuff. And new adventures of new characters. Cool.

  2. Including a new character named Susan Daly. Glad you approve.

  3. A new character??? I have only just got to know Evan. I will now have to (tough job, I know) catch up with the books that I havent read from the series :)

  4. Yay! Congratulations, Meg! Any timeframe on the US release dates? Or too soon to know?

    Congratulations again! I’m looking forward to it!

  5. Meg, my not-especially-witty comment seems to have gone into limbo, so here’s a second “most excellent.” And again, I wonder what that Susan Daly is going to get up to….

  6. Congrats and I look forward to a new author on my bookshelf.

  7. Saw Stephen King’s glowing review of your work in EW and decided to check out your books. Had to go through amazon.co.uk to do it and wait a couple of weeks for shipping but it was *so* worth it!! Just finished both China Lake and Mission Canyon and love your writing! Evan and Jesse are quite the team :) So glad to hear you’re going to be published here in the U.S. and I’m looking forward to reading more of your books in the near future. CONGRATULATIONS!

  8. It couldn’t happen to a better author!!!

  9. Oh lordy, what have I let myself in for? Not all characters in Meg’s books make it to the last page in one piece. Will I become the hapless victim of a crazed cross-dressing lumberjack, Deforest de Tries?

  10. Oh, at the very least, I’m sure!

  11. And his identity is finally exposed when Susan strips off his lumberjack disguise… until then, she couldn’t see Deforest for de Tries.

  12. Can’t wait for the new book. Especially since I won’t have sit here and convert the price into American dollars. Have you been singing “America” by Neil Diamond to yourself since you’re books are “coming to America”.

  13. Well done, Meg. It’s about time. Hang on, Husband and chirruns. Wild weather ahead, I think. Fantastic!

  14. Saw the mention of your deal in today’s Publisher’s Weekly (the free edition, so no details)

  15. Congratulations!
    I am so glad Stephen King recommended you. Stayed up until midnight reading Mission Canyon last night. I’ve already ordered the others online, so can’t wait.

  16. I like to look as I travel at the books being read in the airports and on the planes. I have no doubt that I will be seeing her name as I walk through the halls and down the aisles as I travel the USA. As a matter of fact, I hope I’ll have a copy myself.

    Jerry

Leave a Reply

