Contest 2012: Results

Yes, finally, here are the results of Contest 2012. Yet again everybody has delighted me with funny, creative, off-the-wall entries. This year the contest had more submissions than ever. Thanks to everybody who took part.

The photograph was taken by Jim Urquhart for Reuters. And while a strong proportion of entries placed the action in China, Japan, or Brazil, the photo was taken at the Burning Man Festival in Nevada.

Before I announce the two runners up and the winner, here’s a nod to a few other entries that made me laugh. It’s too bad the new novel doesn’t have room for a jolly bus plunge that would allow me to add everybody as a character. In lieu of driving you all off a cliff, here’s a tip of the hat to jpaubrey, jack hrusoff, Jason, YouBredRaptors?, Pop Culture Nerd, Linda, Rich, Doug Moring, Susan, Mark Dobson, DJ Paterson, Rachel Pope, and Ron.

Now, the results.

Runners up: These two entrants will each receive a signed copy of one of my novels.

Snart:
I believe I’m a fly, I believe I can touch the sky….!

Flakes:
When Ferd Bismuth unexpectedly found himself thrust amongst several battle-hardened Samurai, he knew he’d have to turn to desperate measures to ensure that he’d be…
“….stayin’ alive, stayin’ alive.
Ah, ha, ha, ha,
Stayin’ alive.
Stayin’ alive.
Ah, ha, ha, ha,
Stayin’ aliiiiiiive…”

Winner: We have a tie. Both these entrants will have a character named after them in The Shadow Tracer:

Coffey Kin:
Of all of the tropical diseases his doctor warned him of before his once-in-a-lifetime trip to Bali, Irving swore she never once mentioned Disco Fever.

Walt:
Two Words: Bling Dynasty.

Congratulations!

10 responses to “Contest 2012: Results

  1. I am a runner up! Oh, thank you, thank you! I’d like to thank the Academy and all those other wonderful writers who entered the competition with me. (Wait, what? I don’t get a speech as a runner up?) Never mind. (But, thank you!)

  2. Good job you guys! Great entries and lots of fun as always! Thanks meg.

  3. Congrats to the lucky new characters in Meg’s next book (ha, you think it’s going to be painless?) and the runners up. As always, I enjoyed all the wildly different interpretations.

  4. May your demises be interesting and entertaining! Congratulations, all.

  5. Well done, everyone. Thanks for the honourable mention, Meg!

  6. Congratulations everybody, there was a ton of fantastically funny entries.
    Thanks for the opportunity, Meg.

  7. Is it me or are these contests becoming harder? I think it took me a week to even start this time. Congratulations to all the winners. May your misfortunes be memorable. :>)

  8. Congratulations, all! Lots of fun stuff.

  9. I don’t always win a tip of that hat recognition in a contest. But, when I do, I prefer it to be Meg’s contest!

    Congratulations to the runners up and the deserving co-winners. As a past co-winner, I can tell you that the prize will change your… death.

    (And, I must admit, Walt, “Two Words: Bling Dynasty” is so inspired that I fully plan to find a place to use it along with this photo and take full credit for thinking it up myownself. ;-) )

Leave a Reply

