Parents, what are you thinking?

It’s that time of year again: I’m starting a new book. Which means I need to populate it with characters. Who need names.

So as always, I pull out 10,000 Baby Names. I also go online to various parenting sites to see what names are catching on this winter.

I am not well pleased.

From a site for expectant parents, here are suggestions for last names that can be turned into first names.

Jackson, Jameson, Parker, Nixon, Franklin, Davis, and Smith.

NIXON?

Also: Babynames.net has a list titled “Bad-boy Names.” It includes Arsen (‘virile, potent, strong’).

Seriously, what is wrong with these people? Can’t they stick with normal names, like Bubba and Trixie?

5 responses to “Parents, what are you thinking?

  1. Great post and awesome blog.

  2. “…Jameson, Parker…”

    Is that the same Jameson Parker from “Simon & Simon”?

  3. “My father’s name was Ferdinand, my mother’s name was Liza. And so betwixt the two of them, they named me Ferdi-Liza.” I’ve seen worse. Lots worse.

  4. My ex-wife and I named our daughter Georgia. This was just after my ex’s college roommate had a daughter she and her husband named Virginia. We all live(d) in the Carolinas. There might be a trend, here.

Leave a Reply

