Well, this’ll end up in a book

On the subject of Write What You Know, here’s a first: I’ve had the opportunity to climb out of a stuck elevator after another passenger hauled the doors open. I suspect this is as close as I’ll ever come to being in Die Hard.

For the record, I wasn’t stuck for long. Just long enough to figure out that pushing the HELP button didn’t connect us to help but to an answering machine. Just long enough to wonder what the other passenger and I were going to talk about for endless hours until somebody found us. But the doors proved surprisingly easy to pull apart. Luckily, we only had to jump down about a foot. I didn’t even have to write out Now I have a machine gun. Ho-ho-ho.

Think I’ll take the stairs for a while.

3 responses to “Well, this’ll end up in a book

  1. Stacy McKitrick

    You reminded me of an elevator incident with my great-aunt at her apartment complex in San Francisco. Instead of arriving at her floor, the elevator opened to a brick wall. Talk about freaky! She panicked and punched all the buttons and luckily the doors opened on another floor. It didn’t stop her (or me) from riding the elevator, just that particular car!

    But it’s nice to know the help buttons work – not! Yikes!

  2. Meg, I think your Christmas movie habit is beginning to have an impact on other areas of your life.

  3. That is scary. I hope when you got out of the elevator, you did it super quick. It could have dropped any minute!

Leave a Reply

