Have another bit of England

I spent this week teaching a creative writing workshop and then driving to Bristol for CrimeFest. Few things are lovelier than sunny spring days in England, when the lilacs and wild roses are in bloom and the farm fields roll on and on, green and rich, across the hills. CrimeFest was, as always, great fun. The commute was equally great, because while I was driving at 70 mph along the motorway, I kept hearing “Jerusalem” in my mind.

So here’s a version of that glorious hymn, with some English country views thrown in.

Hey, I’m flying to Austin in the morning. I get to be a bit sentimental about England today.

5 responses to “Have another bit of England

  1. This deserves the text! What a great land!
    Jerusalem Hymn

    And did those feet in ancient time
    Walk upon England’s mountain green?
    And was the holy Lamb of God
    On England’s pleasant pastures seen?
    And did the countenance divine
    Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
    And was Jerusalem builded here
    Among those dark satanic mills?

    Bring me my bow of burning gold!
    Bring me my arrows of desire!
    Bring me my spear! O clouds, unfold!
    Bring me my chariot of fire!
    I will not cease from mental fight,
    Nor shall my sword sleep in my hand,
    Till we have built Jerusalem
    In England’s green and pleasant land.

    • Thanks for that. The words are inspiring, and with Elgar’s soaring arrangement and the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra bringing it to life… ahh.

  2. Thanks for that, both of you. Safe trip, Meg.

  3. susanintoronto

    Nice. Very nice. And a happy Victoria Day to everyone.

  4. Loverly!

Leave a Reply

