We have a winner!

Posted by Susan at 1105 GMT… DeForest.

Yep, that’s my favorite verb name. As in DeForest Kelly, Doctor McCoy on Star Trek. It’s a real name, it’s both an obscure and environmentally cool verb, and for some reason it has always struck me as my favorite in this game. What can I say? I’m a kook.

Susan, you’ll be a character in my next book.

8 responses to “We have a winner!

  1. Excellent Susan — congratulations!

  2. Oh my gosh oh my gosh!!

    This is so exciting! Do I get to die horribly at the hands of some relentless villain (come to think of it, in my Grade 10 school play, someone who had it in for me, not in a nice way, used my name as one of the latest set of people who had just died). I guess it’s my fate. But this is so so so cool!

    Thanks million, Meg.

    And Werner, you came so close with Forrest.

  3. I can’t help it, I have to go on

    I dragged myself out of bed this morning (it’s 9:30 here) to report the weird ideas that came to me as I was semi-conscious on the couch, scribbling them down under the afhghan, in hopes of reading my writing later.

    Stan
    Calvin (birthin’ a baby cow)
    Boris (i hope he doesn’t boris with his speech)
    Lore (still on the Star Trek theme, Data’s evil twin)
    Leif (still on the forestry theme, I guess)
    Isolde (last one this morning)
    Otto (we otto do something about it)
    Ofra (cookie to you aunt, dear)
    Q (as in Bond’s World, or Helene Hanff’s)
    and, for reasons I cannot now recall, Muriel?

  4. Congratulations Susan!

    I know it – I came sooo close.

    I’m not even sure why I wrote in Forrest. I must’ve had Gump on my mind when I should’ve been thinking Bones.

  5. Congratulations, Susan. The fate of your character remains to be determined, but with luck it will be colorful.

    Yes, Werner, you were close – but given that the heroine in my books is known to wear Star Trek underwear, the Leonard McCoy choice was almost inevitable.

    Still on Trek… Susan, there’s also Q as in the Q Continuum. And go ahead, keep sending in the verbs. Resistance is futile.

  6. Are you alluding to the name/verb Quest – as in to seek?

  7. Pingback: Character building, part two « lying for a living

  8. Pingback: Contest! « lying for a living

Leave a Reply

