Question time: writing habits, Ranger, Morelli, Evan, and Jo

More answers to your recent questions.

Dan asks: “What are your work/writing habits? Do you outline? Do you complete all your research before beginning writing? When you are writing, is it a ‘words per day’ goal, or is it more time-based? (Writing from 8:00am until 2:00pm, for example.)”

I’m so glad you asked. It’s a grueling routine. I roll out of bed around 1 p.m. and, after sending back the first few Bloody Marys prepared by my minions (how many time do I have to tell them: Snappy Tom, not tomato juice! Minions — they’ll be the death of me) I locate my computer beneath the piles of pizza boxes stacks of research material on my desk. I close the blackout drapes, set the stereo to play “The Ride of the Valkyries” at 110 decibels, and type until I pass out.

Or I drink a pot of coffee, read the paper, answer email, pull up the outline I spent two months writing, check to see if I need to do any additional research (such as contacting an automotive expert for information on how long a Toyota pickup could idle on a full tank, at 7,000 feet, if the owner had been abducted from the truck while the engine was running) and then write until I’ve added 2,000 words to my count. You decide which sounds more likely.

Eddie asks: “Would you write in any genre other than crime/thriller?”

Anything with an apocalypse in it. And monkeys.

Susan asks: “Ranger or Morelli?”

If Stephanie Plum doesn’t have to choose, I don’t see why I should either.

Snart asks: “In a crisis, who would you rather have at your side: Evan or Jo?”

You didn’t specify what kind of crisis, so I’m going to presume I’d want both medical and legal help. I’d need both Evan and Jo to get me out of trouble. Because I’m just that bad.

8 responses to “Question time: writing habits, Ranger, Morelli, Evan, and Jo

  1. The latter sounds more likely but the former sounds much more fun.

    Thanks, Meg!

  2. LOL! I really think you could give Dave Barry a run for his money with a comic caper.

  3. Uh-oh… did someone just mention Dave Barry?
    Dana Jean? You there?
    Anyone home?

  4. I am awaiting your monkey apocalypse tome with baited breath. Thanks Meg.

  5. And just how many volumes can we expect in the Monkeypocalypse! Saga. . .? (A Is for Anno Peeblesi)

Leave a Reply

