Q & A with Jeffery Deaver

Here’s something that’s really cool. (For me, at least.) Jeffery Deaver and I have interviewed each other about our new novels for Amazon.com. The first half of the exchange is now up at Amazon: Jeff’s questions and my answers about The Nightmare Thief.

Author One-on-One: Meg Gardiner and Jeffery Deaver.

Jeffery Deaver: This is the fourth Jo Beckett novel. Fans are always curious about whether authors age their characters or not. What’s your approach to this?

Meg Gardiner: Time in my novels is flexible. Jo’s life does pass, because over the course of the books she changes and grows, and that takes time. But she doesn’t age according to the calendar on my wall. From The Dirty Secrets Club to The Nightmare Thief, about a year has gone by in her world. At heart, these books are about a young professional in San Francisco in the early years of the 21st century. And that won’t change.

Deaver: Jo’s specialty, of course, is psychology, which she practices in The Nightmare Thief both on the living and on at least one fellow who ended up in an abandoned mine–not a pleasant excursion, I should add. Your insight into the mind is quite riveting; do you have a background in the subject?

Gardiner: What’s truly riveting is the mind itself. That’s why I love writing these books. But my background, like yours, is in law…

Read the rest.

My questions for Jeff about his new James Bond novel, Carte Blanche, will be posted soon. And I really must thank Jeff for taking the time to engage in this one-on-one. It was great fun. But he’s been just slightly busy with a world tour launching Carte Blanche, doing things like racing through London’s St. Pancras station in a Bentley while Royal Marines abseil from the ceiling. More about that when the second half of the Q&A goes live.

9 responses to “Q & A with Jeffery Deaver

  1. That was really enjoyable, and should be a great boost for readership! I’m chomping at the bit to read the book!

    • Totally enjoyable interview – I agree, Snart. Many thanks to Meg O’Death and Mr. Deaver.

      And the book is one of Meg’s best yet. Nail-biting, edge-of-your-seat thrills from cover to cover. “Couldn’t put it down” is a cliche but it’s also the truth. I loved it.

  2. Could not agree with you more, Dan. I am in awe of whoever is doing the audio version of this book. How she will be able to read in a calm tone and pace is beyond me.

  3. That is really cool!

Leave a Reply

