Book Tour 2011: the Debrief

I’ve just arrived home from my book tour for The Nightmare Thief. I had a wonderful time. It was great to see friends (like Jeff Abbott) and to meet people in person whom I’d only known online until now. (Hi, Dru.) Thanks again to all the bookstores that hosted my events: Murder by the Book in Houston; Book People in Austin; The Poisoned Pen in Scottsdale; The BookMark Shoppe in Brooklyn; and Mystery Lovers Bookshop in Pittsburgh. Thanks to my publicist at Dutton, Jamie McDonald, for putting the tour together. And special thanks to everybody who came to hear me speak, and who bought books. You’re the whole reason I write. And you’re the ones who make it possible for me to continue writing.

Now, a few photos and dirty details. Note that I just flew all night and crossed five time zones. So these may be more hallucinations than memories.

To start: Here I am, on the road in Texas. And what am I feeling? Yes. Love.

That’s because Love’s sells both Beef Jerky and Junior Mints in Texas size portions. Also because I’m related to the Loves. They buy my books. I buy their gas, and this photo is proof. So no need for another family feud. Besides, my insurance won’t pay to repair any more bullet holes in my car. And Uncle Bill is tired of sweeping his front yard for landmines every time he takes the dog out. Fair enough?

Earlier I posted a video from my event at Book People in Austin. At the top of this post is a photo of the marquee at the store. My name, in lights! I made it, Ma. Now look at the poster that sat inside the front door:

Did you ever think I’d get top billing over Larry Flynt? Yeah, I can tell you’re proud.

And here’s a shot of me signing books.

I was delighted that some friends from the University of Texas came to hear my talk. But I was severely disappointed that folks from the College of Engineering failed to bring the Texas Petawatt Laser to the bookstore for a demonstration. That would have been even better than a Jo Beckett v. Evan Delaney cage fight.

That’s enough for now. Part 2 of the debrief tomorrow.

4 responses to “Book Tour 2011: the Debrief

  1. Sounds like you had a great time, Meg. I was hoping to have some free time to make it to the Pittsburgh event but unfortunately, it didn’t work out as I had planned…

    Next book tour: A stop in Chicago. Please. The Midwest Meg-O-Philes will be buying the pizza.

  2. Hi Meg!

    I was so nice to meet you. I’m glad you had a good and successful book tour.

  3. Hear, hear, Dan! Pizza AND beer!

Leave a Reply

