August: Snow and Roses

Here are two views of white stuff in August. Summer in England, winter in New Zealand. Above is my garden this morning, and below is Flakes’ driveway last night.

Flakes writes: “Only the second time it has snowed at our place in over fifty-something years! Sooooo exciting! It is possible that it may snow again today and tomorrow, I hope so! (Gee-whiz, can you spot the snow-newbie?!)”

As a southern Californian, I am an eternal snow-newbie. I share your excitement, even from 12,000 miles away.

12 responses to “August: Snow and Roses

  1. Great contrasts. I watched an online news report of the snow in Wellington this morning – even the adults had the faces of children’s delight.

  2. Congratulations, Flake! Sometime in January I’ll mail you some as a reminder–snow is something we’re happy to export about then.

  3. This makes me smile. Looking at it through the eyes of someone who doesn’t get much snow makes me feel like a kid again too.

  4. Great photos! Was there enough for a snowman, Flakes?

    Meg: Another glorious rose. Nice work! Is it you or The Husband that has the green thumb?

  5. DJ: The South Island is completely over it, snow is nothing new for them and lambing/calving has just started so not good news for those wee guys. But the North island is still reveling in it all.

    Patti: Thanks! (I am a little worried about what state it may be in by the time it arrives though.)

    Monita: So kind, so giving… wait ALL of your snow? Maybe, a little too giving? πŸ˜‰

    Deej: I feel like a little kid again! This is the third night running of snow for us and without fail, our whole street comes out to snow-party!

    Dan: There have been a number of mini snowmen spring up, but most of it is gone by morning. Tomorrow may be different though, it’s been going for quite some time tonight.

    Meg: Thanks for posting the pic! Your roses are beautiful, I’m terrible at roses. My Grandma has several different blooms, every time she lost someone over the years, she’d plant one as a memorial. They’re lovely, too.

  6. 😳 Looks like I’ve had another HTML accident.

  7. Hahahahahahaha, yeah, you got me there.
    Time for lights out, g’nite/day….

  8. The English White Rose. Yin and Yang dictate the necessity of the English Red Rose, for the War of the Roses. Red Rose, anyone?

Leave a Reply

