Read, watch, listen?

This week’s going to be head-down time, as I dig into my novel in progress. So help me out. What are you reading, watching, listening to?

I’ll start:

Books:

  • The Rest is Noise, Alex Ross
  • Star Island, Carl Hiaasen

Movies:

  • Rise of the Planet of the Apes
  • Super 8

Music:

  • Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 2
  • Florence and the Machine: Lungs

15 responses to “Read, watch, listen?

  1. Reading:

    The Waste Lands, (again) Stephen King
    GT-S5510T User Manual, Samsung
    (If anybody has one of these and knows how to turn off those damned annoying button beeps, please let me know.)

    Watching:

    Superhero! I think this is pretty old, but we watched it for the first time last night and I almost laughed my very arse off!

    Listening to:

    East Tuesday My eldest kid is lead singer in a high-school band, been listening to their new (& cover) music.

  2. Books:
    The Cut – George Pelecanos
    In The Garden of Beasts – Erik Larson
    White Heat – M.J. McGrath
    Before I Go To Sleep – S.J. Watson
    Sex On The Moon – Ben Mezrich
    A Death In Summer – John Banville (as Benjamin Black)
    The Stand – Stephen King (re-read)

    Music:
    Revelator – Tedeschi/Trucks Band
    Dedicated – Steve Cropper
    The Best of Johnn Winter
    Bring ‘Em In – Buddy Guy
    Together at the Bluebird Café – Steve Earle, Guy Clark & Townes Van Zandt

    Movies/Television:
    Limitless
    The Conspirator
    Curb Your Enthusiasm (Season 8)
    The Best of the Larry Sanders Show

  3. Whoops.. I let my emoticons get the better of me. That should be “Season 8”

  4. Books
    The Queen Of Bedlam – Robert McCammon
    Sixkill – Robert B. Parker
    The Fifth Witness – Michael Connelly
    Hell’s Bells – John Connolly

    Television
    The Closer
    True Blood
    Breaking Bad

    Music
    Taylor Swift
    Neko Case
    Meat Loaf
    (anything written by Jim Steinman)

    Movies
    Unstoppable

  5. Reading now: Murder by Mocha by Cleo Coyle
    Reading next: The Nightmare Thief by Meg Gardiner

    Movies: I want to see The Help and Rise of the Planet of the Apes

    TV: The Closer, Burn Notice, Rizzoli & Isles

    Music: whatever is playing on the radio. Right now it’s Borderline by Madonna.

  6. Oh with great anticipation I can’t see myself doing anything, at least not until my Big Butter Jesus dreams come true…so okay, might coulda been hallucinations..hey now, they’re practically the same thing.
    That’s right, Big Butter Jesus is makin’ a big come back, as ya can’t keep a good savior burned down (well come on, he was also known as Touchdown Jesus too), and for all the world to see no less…
    http://www.daytondailynews.com/news/jesus-statue-webcam-offers-construction-view-1235102.html?cxntlid=cmg_cntnt_rss
    Yep, now everyone has something to do to while away those worrisome hours of wondering if he was ever going to rise again 🙂 !

  7. Reading:
    Secret Windows: Essays and Fiction on the Craft of Writing
    Shelley, also known as Shirley: by Shirley Winters
    Just finished: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time

    Watching:
    Project Runway

    Movies:
    Saw the new Harry Potter and The Help

    Listening to whatever comes on the radio.

  8. Dang it! That’s Shelley Winters

  9. And the next question:

    Will there be a contest for this book? I love these contests, they make me laugh.

  10. Dan – the Bluebird cafe…is that the one with the joke about the dentist?

    Will be reading The Foxes Come at Night, Cees Nooteboom, when it arrives.
    Film: Going to see One Day, later on.
    I want Chuck Brodsky’s latest CD

  11. He was Dan…I remember a joke he told about his brother giving up drinking…Bit too long for here 🙂 Great songs too 😀

  12. Watched: (tonight) Incendiary Oh wow, my eyes are still runny and burning–this story hollowed me right out.

Leave a Reply

