“I’m too pretty to do homework so my brother has to do it for me.”

Take a look at this new JC Penney T-shirt. The catalogue page says: “Who has time for homework when there’s a new Justin Bieber album out? She’ll love this tee that’s just as cute and sassy as she is.”

Let’s call this an open thread. Because anything I have to say about this might cause my computer to spew flames and blow up.

UPDATE: JCPenney has pulled the shirt from sale and apologized. Good. But the question remains: Who thought this was a good idea?

IN THE COMMENTS: DJ Paterson wins the Internet. “This is just downright offensive. I mean, who in their right mind has let the Bieber release a new album?”

18 responses to ““I’m too pretty to do homework so my brother has to do it for me.”

  1. This is just downright offensive. I mean, who in their right mind has let the Bieber release a new album?

  2. I’m seeing on the JCP website that this product is no longer available. Whew!

  3. I’d pretty much say that anyone wearing that shirt, if old enough and self-aware enough to have personally purchased it, has declared to the world that she/he/it is without higher brain functions and deserving of all ridicule.

    Should it turn out that a parent purchased that shirt, all parental rights should be immediately be revoked in favor of rabid badgers, who would no doubt be much more competent to raise offspring.

    Other than that, I have absolutely nothing (yet) to say on this subject.

  4. I expect to see Zach Galifianakis wearing this shirt in The Hangover 3

  5. In a world where Kim Kardashian is held up as a role model for young women, how could someone at Penny’s *not* come up with an idea like this . . .?

  6. I’m so full of post-feminist rage right now, I’m going to go flip a table over.

  7. Well, as usual, DJ is too good with the quips. I see another shutout in the writing contest coming up. As for what you should do with the internet, I would suggest a flash mob to burn Justin Bieber CDs. Couldn’t hurt. :>)

  8. I’m not surprised by your outrage, Meg. But, while I may not be the intended target market, I’ve actually worn this shirt around both of my brothers and received many a knowing nod from passersby.

    (See a picture of the three of us, from a while ago, at this link: http://gilbertron.files.wordpress.com/2011/09/pretty-brothers.jpg)

  9. Ron, are you vying for a role as backup singer to Lady Gaga? ;>)

  10. I don’t get the outrage. What if it happens to be true (as it is for me)?

  11. This doesn’t bother me that much. It’s an ugly shirt for one, I can’t imagine anyone wanting it to begin with. Second, I’ve seen so much worse. Let’s start with JUICY across the ass.

  12. @ Dana Jean: Been there, done that, got the big girl panties.

  13. Justin Bieber is a very talented young musician. i really adore him. ,

    View all of the most interesting article on our web portal
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

