Jonny Quest Opening Titles — redone

By Roger D. Evans, who explains:

In 1964, Jonny Quest aired to rave reviews as the first, adult action/adventure cartoon in prime time. It had cool jazz music by Hoyt Curtin and terrific, high contrast pen and ink design work by Doug Wildey. As an animator and long time JQ junkie, I had always wanted a set of Jonny Quest action figures but, due to high production costs, the show only lasted one season; not long enough to spawn any kind of serious toys or other merchandising tie-ins. So, almost 50 years later, I made my own. Here is my Valentine to one of the coolest, if not THE coolest, cartoons ever to spin up the imagination of a 53 year old man now going on six. Enjoy!

(For smooth playback in HD, you may need to let it load completely before viewing.)

Jonny Quest is my favorite cartoon ever. Ever. Just take in this opening sequence. Monsters. Lasers. Pterodactyls. And jazz flute. The awesomeness overwhelms me.

Yes, I am seven years old.

6 responses to “Jonny Quest Opening Titles — redone

  1. I was always a fan of Haji. So cool!

    • Me, too, Snart! I loved this cartoon so much when I was a kid, that I was just now very surprised to read that it only lasted one season! I must have watched lots of syndicated episodes! Great show!

  2. Oh lord, I remember every one of those episodes, especially the “spider”. Good memories đŸ™‚

  3. Thanks for the wonderful flashback and keeping Johnny alive in our memories.

  4. You had me at yazz flute. (name that movie)

    I was also a J. Q. watcher. I was always worried about Bandit. Just as I was afraid for a certain dog who shall remain nameless –Whiskey.

  5. Good Job Roger D. Evans, that was very good.

Leave a Reply

