Starting my Christmas list

AKA, books I covet. Books that will serve as motivation for me to do my own work — because I’ll put them on a high shelf and wire them up to an electrical circuit that will shock me if I touch them without first finishing my own writing for the day/week/month.

A Visit from the Goon Squad, Jennifer Egan
1Q84, Haruki Murakami
REAMDE, Neal Stephenson
Zone One, Colson Whitehead
11/22/63, Stephen King

How about you? Any books you’re itching to read? Anything you’re hoping to help you celebrate Christmas, Diwali, Purim, Eid, Tet, the Winter Solstice, the Rugby World Cup Final, Elvis’s birthday?

5 responses to “Starting my Christmas list

  1. Steve Jobs – by Walter Isaacson. I want an Apple gift card to download it on my new iPad.

  2. I’m also looking forward to Stephen King’s new one. Here’s my current TBR pile:

    Double Dexter – Jeff Lindsay (currently reading)
    Hemingway’s Boat – Paul Hendrickson
    The Affair – Lee Child
    Shock Wave – John Sandford
    Born to Run – Christopher McDougall
    Nightwoods – Charles Frazier
    REAMDE – Neal Stephenson
    Just Kids – Patti Smith

  3. Steve’s – “11/22/63”
    Michael Rosen’s – “We’re Going on a Bear Hunt”

    I had a copy of this for my first three children but it has been lost. I’ve wanted to replace this for so long so that my youngest can experience the same magic.

  4. Reamde looks like an interesting read. I will pick that one up. Also, what looks interesting to me is Jo Nesbo’s Head Hunters and a new one called Sorry by Zoran Drvenkar. I just got it today in the mail and will start it next. I’m just finishing up Michael Robotham’s Shatter.

  5. Steve’s book, of course. Currently working my way through Stieg Larsson’s books, starting the last one today. I’m getting new bookshelves for myself so I can gaze at all my lovely books. I’m so excited.

Leave a Reply

