Crimespree Magazine finds out my guilty pleasure

Crimespree runs a regular column on writers’ guilty movie pleasures. This week I spill all.

Guilty Pleasures: The Core

I’m a massive fan of disaster movies. I grew up in the ’70s, the decade that gave us Earthquake and The Poseidon Adventure. A love of catastrophe is in my blood. And disaster movies are about who dies, who survives, and why — courage, cowardice, smarts, muscle, pluck, or dumb luck. We watch to figure out how to avoid doom, and because we imagine that we’ll be among the hardy few who survive the apocalypse, unlike that annoying boss and the snippy girls who teased us in high school.

You can find out about my true love of awful sci fi at the link.

5 responses to “Crimespree Magazine finds out my guilty pleasure

  1. The Poseidon Adventure is one of my very favourite movies, I loved it as a child.

    That was great, thanks Meg. (The aqua on black just about burnt holes in my retinae though!)

  2. The Core has just moved to the top of my must-see list!

  3. Loved The Core. And Armageddon, Deep Impact, 2012 etc., etc. But when the eldest son picked up Mega Shark vs Giant Octopus whilst browsing DVDs yesterday (yes, really), it was you I thought about, Meg.

Leave a Reply

