Now Write! Mysteries

For anybody who wants to learn the secrets of writing thrillers and mysteries, Now Write! Mysteries has just been published by Penguin. I’m one of the contributors. My essay is “Ratcheting up the Suspense.” It’s about “How to keep readers guessing, worrying, and turning the pages by structuring scenes to have at least half a dozen mini-turning points.”

Check out the list of contributors. I’m jazzed to be included with a boatload of great crime writers and well-known writing gurus, including Peter James, Sophie Hannah, James Scott Bell, and Louise Penny.

8 responses to “Now Write! Mysteries

  1. Thanks so much for providing a great exercise, Meg! And happy new year : )

    • And thanks for your hard work and dedication in assuming the editor’s role after Sherry Ellis so sadly passed away. You did a wonderful job.

      Happy New Year to you too!

  2. Looks good – and that’s a huge A to Z of contributors.

  3. Excellent, Meg. I’ll look for this!

  4. Is this available for Kindle? I’m going to go look. I love to read about writing. Love it. I spend more time reading about writing….

  5. Yep, it was available and I have it waiting patiently for me to get to it. Yes, my books have to be very patient.

  6. Great, Meg. Should be very helpful.

  7. Pingback: Writing: not all words are the same, or easy to teach | lying for a living

Leave a Reply

