Question time: ask away

I am in the land of mountains and snow this weekend, seeing many movies. So it’s that time of the blog year: Ask me questions. What do you want to know?

17 responses to “Question time: ask away

  1. What would you consider the pros and cons to living in England versus the USA? I know they speak a kind of English there so how difficult is communication? (Yes, I’m being a smart ass. Gotta do what I do best.) But seriously, what are the major differences. What do you like most and dislike most?

  2. Are there some conventions you like over others? How do you choose which ones to go to?

    The first one I went to was scary, but I’m starting to get the hang of them, now. However, I wonder if I’m spending my time and money wisely by being a repeat attender – especially since I’m not published yet.

  3. What is your quest? What is your favorite color? What is the best Monty Python movie (or sketch)?

  4. Is the protagonist in your new stand-alone novel another female?

  5. Did you see Alligator X?

  6. Meg, when you go to these conferences or speaking engagements where other authors will also be, do you make sure you read one of their books before you get to the event? That is, if it’s someone new you’ve never read. Do you do “research” on fellow authors so you don’t go in not knowing anything about them?

    Also, what famous or infamous person have you met that you outwardly were trying to be calm and cool around, but inside you were squealing like an insane fan girl?

  7. Do British girls shave their armpits?

  8. Are there ANY good Mexican restaurants in England? If not, how do you spice up your life (besides hanging out with The Husband)?

  9. Okay, I’ll get to answering all these in a separate post or two.

    Any other questions?

  10. Meg, can Hiker Chick’s question jump the queue a bit? It’s of grave importance.

    What way of offing a character did you dream up that turned out to be utterly impossible to execute (pun intended), and possibly more than a little silly?

  11. Okay, here’s my serious, non-pythonesque question. A while back (in your April 3, 2011 post, to be exact – my memory’s not that good, I just searched for “narrative” in your blog), you said, “I’ve been pondering the importance of storytelling — seriously pondering its cultural, psychological, and mythological import — since a remark from a friend spurred my first ever post on this blog.” As far as I can tell, you’ve never unpacked these remarks in one concerted blog entry. (If you did, I either missed it or the synapses containing that information have chosen to remain inaccessible.) Could you do so? (Or direct us to where you have done so?) And can you say at what point you understood the power, not of *a* story, but of story itself? What’s it all about, Meg?

  12. Pingback: Ken Burns on story: 1 + 1 = 3 | lying for a living

Leave a Reply

