USA Today interviews my kid

And you have no idea how much self control it took to keep me from adding an exclamation mark to the end of that statement. It took a massive effort to keep me from adding multiple exclamation marks, great hopping, squealing herds of them. In an article about transferring from community colleges to four-year universities, USA Today extensively quotes my daughter Kate.

Making the Most of Your Community College Years.

Kate Lazo, assistant director of admission at Stanford University, says that good grades and a great professor recommendation are crucial. But the biggest mistake she sees prospective transfer students make is not researching the school’s application and course requirements.

“Students should think about what sort of classes they’re taking,” Lazo said. “They should focus in on the area they intend to major in but shouldn’t do so at the expense of a broad liberal arts education.” Lazo lists requirements such as humanities and foreign language courses that community college students should be taking before transferring.

There’s more. Oh so much more, but if I quote it further I’ll start squealing with motherly pride and running around flailing my arms overhead like a muppet, which would further embarrass my daughter. So I’ll stop now.

And yes, please offer your suggestions for a plural noun to describe a wild group of exclamation marks.

17 responses to “USA Today interviews my kid

  1. That’s your girl!!!! (I suggest this grouping of exclamation points be called a clamor…or clamour, in UK English).

    How neat to see her name in the article and read her quotes. How’d that happen? Take a bow, Mom and Dad. She made the big time!

  2. How about “Exclamopod?” A “Murder Of Marks?”

  3. Woo Hoo!!!!!!!!!

    I added a few for you..

  4. I’m an exclamation point whore, so I’ll do it for you — !!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. I would call it a “bang of exclamation points.”

    Your daughter gives sound advice. That USA picked up on that is awesome.

  6. Very proud-making indeed.

    And how about an excitation of exclamation marks?

  7. and from my daughter … “A brouhaha of exclamation points.”

    She aptly did not end the suggestion with a brouhaha.

  8. How about a “stampede” of exclamation points? Or a “blizzard”? Or a “Brando” (I’m thinking of The Wild One: “What are you exclaiming about?” “What do you got?”) Yeah, a Brando of exclamation points.

  9. You stopped because you didn’t want to embarrass you daughter? What sort of a mother are you? How very post modern.

  10. ▌ ▌ ▌
    ☻☻☻

    Some excellent exclamationames, people.
    Very happy for you, Meg. ☺

  11. ¡Excellent suggestions all!

  12. Wow – good reason to be a proud Mom.

  13. SO exciting to see Kate’s comments in print! Woo hoo! (As a former college transfer student to SU, I’d say she nailed it.)

  14. Way to be quotable, Kate! Congratulations, Mama.

  15. Very exciting, you must be so proud Mama!
    I like a caboodle of exclamations, or a hoard or a stockpile of exclamation points (I was watching the show extreme couponing the other day and those people are constantly referring to their “stockpile”, so I still had it on the brain, lol!).

Leave a Reply

