Music to write by

I just checked my playlist. According to iTunes, the music I most often listen to while I write includes:

  • Foo Fighters
  • Incubus
  • Gladiator soundtrack
  • Inception soundtrack
  • Muse
  • Bruce Springsteen
  • Ella Fitzgerald
  • The Killers
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • Outkast
  • Shostakovich Symphony No. 5
  • And, um, The Lion King.

Sometimes it takes a new song to help a writer understand how a character feels, or what she’s thinking, or how he sees the world. If I know what a character loves to listen to, and why, I start to understand him.

Sometimes I just need loud music to keep my adrenaline pumping so I can write a chase scene.

Today I realized that a major character in my current novel would burst into tears when she heard Dave Grohl sing Wheels. So I let her cry. Don’t worry, she wasn’t operating heavy machinery.

4 responses to “Music to write by

  1. Chris Snyder

    Hmmm. Hakuna Matata is playing and you’re writing for… Jo? Jesse? Evan? Gabe? Mr. Peebles?

  2. The Pretender

    Best Tom Petty song Dave ever wrote.

Leave a Reply

