Travel day

I’ve been telling people that I can work on a 747 in flight, in a thunderstorm, surrounded by flying cutlery and crying babies — but if my kids start laughing in the next room, I’m doomed. Well, today I’m going to put all that to the test. The family’s headed on a road trip.

Of course one of the most important things to take on a flight, besides boarding pass, ID, and a toothbrush, is a book. I’ve got Don DeLillo’s White Noise. When the plane lifts off the runway I will crack open page 1.

What’s everybody else reading? Do you have summer reading recommendations? Please let us know.

23 responses to “Travel day

  1. Happy travels to you all. Be safe, happy and well!

    Currently reading: Cross Stitch by Diana Gabaldon – enjoying it very much from the first page, lovely humour injected into the characters… almost without effort. (seemingly)

    Just finished: Outside the White Lines by Chris Simms – very ‘meh’. could have gone a lot of places, but didn’t. Seemed very amateurish, hadn’t read anything of his before. Not sure if this is his first(?)

    Before that: The Wind Through the Keyhole by Stephen King – really enjoyed this. Allowed me a visit with some much loved ‘friends’ and introduced me to one or two characters that I’d like to have heard more about. Who knows? Maybe one day I will!

  2. Just finished the ARC of Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness (sequel to Discovery of Witches) Both were good reads but had much more descriptive info than most novels do. It added to the atmosphere but did make for a longer read.

    I’ve been reading a lot of young adult novels lately which, fortunately or un-, has lengthened my list of ‘authors to watch’ because, of course, some are the beginning of a series.

    My beach reads will include catching up on a few favorites series (Dana Stabenow and Anne Perry) that I’ve been neglecting and, of course, July 5th will be a happy day…

  3. Almost finished with Howard Shrier’s second novel, Chicago High. Kind of a Jewish Spenser in Toronto. This one plays out in Chicago, though. The last two books I read last week, Phantom by Jo Nesbo (a series not to be missed) and a really terrific thriller by a gifted young lady called Ransom River. :>)

    • Jo Nesbo is the goods. His books are great.

      So who’s this writer called Ransom River? In an astounding coincidence, I’ve written a book by that title. :>)

      • I will have you know that while driving my wife for her radiation treatment this morning, I had that ‘smack my head’ moment realizing how poorly I made that sentence. I also knew I would hear about it. Color me chagrined. (An awful shade somewhere between mauve and gray.) But I loved the book. When the review I wrote gets published I’ll pass it on and then post it on Amazons US and UK. I have no idea when that will happen but hopefully not before too long.

      • I know that ‘treatment trip’ well, Rich and fully remember living in the fog. Wishing your wife good health and my very best wishes to the both of you.

  4. I recently read Are We Nearly There Yet? by Ben Hatch. If you want to marvel at the eccentricities of the British, following the Hatch family travelling 8,000 miles around Britain in a Vauxhall Astra with two pre-schoolers in order to write a travel guide is an enjoyable way to do it. It managed to make me laugh out loud on a busy commuter train.

  5. I agree with Flakes about Wind through the Keyhole (yes, old friends – I only wish we’d had a little more time with them at the end) and with Rich about that excellent new writer Ransom River (and her first book, which is an autobiography of sorts) – I definitely ripped through that puppy (maybe I shouldn’t use ‘ripped’ and ‘puppy’ together).

    Recently read Duma Key, which I *adored*, Lisey’s Story, which left me feeling colder than I expected it to, Revolutionary Road, by Richard Yates, which is an *exceptional* piece of writing, The Savage Garden, by Mark Mills, which is expertly written, though just a bit Scooby Doo in the very end, and The Great Divorce, by C. S. Lewis, which is succinct and finely done. Just finally finished the last three volumes of The Dark Tower series at the beginning of the year after putting it off for 8 years because I knew I would have to go back and read it from the beginning – but it was a joy to go back to those books and finally finish them . . . even as evil as Mr. King was in that last book to characters I’ve known for a couple of decades now. Now back to In the First Circle, by Solzhenitsyn . . .

    • LOL. I really will be more careful in the future with how I write. I have to stop with stream of consciousness, although at my age it’s more of a puddle.
      Having embraced my OCD as some might embrace more useful things, I waited the twenty-five years till King finished the Dark Tower series so I could read it straight through. Guess how I feel with the release of Wind Through The Keyhole.

    • I adored Duma Key also. Great book, one of my favorites of his.

    • “Ripped and puppy”… together? Ah no, say it isn’t so….

  6. I’m reading Ice Cap by Chris Knopf and waiting for me is Gone Missing by Linda Castillo.

  7. I just finished “The Eiger Sanction”, and am now reading “The Loo Sanction”. featuring Jonathan Hemlock and set in London, four years later.

  8. I hope your wife is okay, Rich.

    My last 10 books read:

    Firestarter by Stephen King
    The Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa Gregory
    The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory
    America’s Vietnam War by Elizabeth Becker
    The Constant Princess by Philippa Gregory
    The Hunger Games by Suanne Collins
    11/22/63 by Stephen King
    21st Century Dead edited by Christopher Golden, various authors
    Let’s Spend the Night Together by Pamela Des Barres
    The Risk Agent by Ridley Pearson

    I appreciated and enjoyed all of the above for one reason or another.

  9. These all sound like great choices. I love the breadth of everybody’s reading, and the easy way you provide such wonderful capsule reviews.

    I’ve recently read the first two novels in George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire saga — A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings. I’ve never been a fan of medieval fantasy, but I thought I should know what my kids were talking about at the dinner table. And these books just sucked me in. I loved them.

    My son also told me it was time I read DeLillo, so I started with the only novel on the shelves at my local bookstore, Falling Man. It’s amazing and wonderful, but tough to read, because it’s about 9/11. (That’s what was keeping me so enthralled on my last airplane landing that I didn’t notice the fire trucks until we were surrounded.) Now I’m on to White Noise, which, while much different in tone, is equally wonderful.

    Keep the books coming…

  10. Thank you for the kind thoughts regarding my wife. Thankfully, today was the final radiation treatment. How they come up with thirty four treatments is beyond me but it’s finally done.
    One good thing to come out of it was getting her to appreciate audiobooks. She is now a Meg Gardiner fan. I really appreciated hearing her laughing again whenever Mr. Peebles came onto the scene. The mental image of a small monkey wrapped up in a towel with duct tape was laugh out hysterical for her. It was tough to maintain a straight face knowing what was coming. Thank you again.

  11. Just got back from a week at the cottage (it’s tough, all that lake and dock and reading….) Between crosswords and kakuro and swimming, I’ve been alternating between 2 enthralling memoirs. Decca, the collected letters of Jessica Mitford (1917-1996), who, between her and her 5 sisters, knew virtually every 20th century mover and shaker in the western world, and Paddling My Own Canoe, by Esther Keyser (1915-2005), a memoir by the first woman guide in Algonquin Park.

    • EVERYONE should read Jessica Mitford’s expose on the funeral industry which has been updated, The American Way of Death. Absolutely fascinating stuff.

Leave a Reply

