At the Olympics: London 2012

It was worth it. The day at the Olympic Park, and an evening spent at the biggest track meet on the planet, were worth it, every second of it. Here are a few photos and a short video. I have much to say but will start with these images.

Here I am with my son Nate in the Olympic stadium just before the competition started.

Here are the US foursome who won the women’s 4×100 meter relay in the world record time of 40.82. Allyson Felix, Bianca Knight, Carmelita Jeter and Tianna Madison. And yes, that’s a TV cameraman on a segway.

And here’s the last half of the men’s 4×400 relay. This is one of the best events at any track meet, and the most fun to run. If I couldn’t compete in this event at the Olympics, there’s nothing I’d rather do than be there to watch it.

You can get a sense of the fevered atmosphere inside the stadium. The noise you hear on TV is only a vague echo compared to the real thing — which sounds like a 747 at takeoff velocity. As the anchor leg begins and the runners come down the backstretch, you can hear me shouting, “Go, Angelo!” to US runner Angelo Taylor. Strangely, as I yelled it I remembered what my daughter’s T-ball coach told parents who hollered at their six-year-olds on the field: “All they can hear is, blah blah blah blah.” And I knew that Taylor couldn’t hear me above the other 80,000 people in the stadium, but I couldn’t seem to help myself… except when the blade runner came around the curve, really flying, and I shouted, “Go, Oscar!”

And yeah, at the end of the race it’s me going, “Oh my God,” as the Bahamas pass the US to take the gold. I was simultaneously disappointed and excited: it was their first gold medal ever. And the US team was glad to share their silver medals with Manteo Mitchell, who a day earlier had got them into the final by finishing his lap in the prelims even though he broke his leg halfway through the race.

4 responses to “At the Olympics: London 2012

  1. I thought I glimpsed you sitting in the crowd 😉 Sounds like you enjoyed yourself; I was enjoying watching it from my sofa.

  2. Okay, I just caught up with your coverage and I’m crying again. It all sounds so amazing. All that hard work and dedication, the sacrifices of the athletes and their family and friends. I love when people are good to each other. I love when we can get behind someone and want something so bad for them instead of for ourselves. I think we forget how to do that sometimes.

  3. That’s a great way to put it, Dana Jean. Thanks for reminding us.

  4. Pingback: 2012: the blog year in review | lying for a living

Leave a Reply

