Welcome to the future. What are you reading?

Scientists convert 53,000 word book into DNA.

In a scientific first, Harvard University researches successfully transformed a 53,426-word book into DNA, the same substance that provides the genetic template for all living things. The achievement could eventually lead to the mass adoption of DNA as a long-term storage medium.

That’s amazing and hugely exciting.

What are you reading this weekend — on paper, a screen, stone tablets, or via genes? I’m starting T. Jefferson Parker’s The Border Lords. In paperback.

11 responses to “Welcome to the future. What are you reading?

  1. Reading now: having completed Jessica Mitford’s letters, in Decca, I’ve now plunged into Letters Between Six Sisters. I had planned to leave it for a while, but found that Mitfordiana had got me in its thrall.

  2. I’m reading Judgment Call by J.A. Jance (hardcover)

  3. Finishing The Queen of America by Luis Alberto Urrea (hardcover).

  4. I Sing the Body Electric! by Ray Bradbury

  5. Finally working my way through Larsson’s Millennium trilogy. I’m now on Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest . . . between reading that and Connelly’s Mickey Haller novels and Meg’s Ransom River, I’m finding new depths in the Marianas Trench of my paranoia. (Thanks, guys! ;)) Also finally picked up Gene Wolfe’s The Knight again after a hiatus of several years. Wolfe’s one of the best.

    • I loved the Millenium Trillogy! It took me a while to get into the first book, but once I did I couldn’t get through them fast enough!

  6. I’m reading Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness (2nd in the All Souls Trillogy).

  7. I have just passed the halfway mark of robert McCammon’s fourth Matthew Corbett novel, The Providence Rider. I love this series. Set at the turn of the 18th century, Matthew Corbett is a problem solver, kind of a detective in pre-revolutionary New York City, although this story takes him to the Bermuda Islands.

  8. Right now I’m reading “The Strangest Man: The Hidden Life of Paul Dirac, Mystic of the Atom” by Graham Farmelo and when that makes my brain hurt, I cut over to “Sacre Bleu: A Comedy d’Art” by Christopher Moore for something lighter.

  9. I’m reading “Ransom River.” No kidding. I’m about halway through with zillions of questions and few answers yet. I have “Defending Jacob” and “The Little Giant of Aberdeen County” next on my pile, plus Zoe Sharp’s “Killer Instinct,” in new US trade paperback.

Leave a Reply

