Things I learn from thriller research

1. When writing a scene where a fictional hit squad hunkers down in a real-life roadside motel, it’s a good idea to verify that the motel is still in business. Because that’s how I discover that the place is not only still going strong, but has rebranded itself as “the southwest’s largest gay resort.”

2. Every profession has its euphemisms
. Politicians don’t call it “lying” — they call it “pretexting.” No, wait… it’s skip tracers who call it pretexting. Politicians call it “attack ads.”

3. Finding out whether the FBI has an office in Roswell, New Mexico might take some time, because Googling “FBI Roswell” brings up nothing but pages and pages of UFO hysteria. If you’re in Roswell and need help from a federal agent, call 911.

9 responses to “Things I learn from thriller research

  1. I’m very glad that I took a breather from my mundane task here and read this! Thanks for the break..it was soooo worth it.

  2. In researching your research, I discovered that:
    1) Is the Habana Inn, in Oklahoma City. I have never been to either, but am trusting that a fictional hit squad have good taste in roadside motels.
    2) Pretexting is also used for social engineering, a euphemism I love.
    3) The very first hit from google is from the vault.fbi.gov. I did not click on it, preferring to keep my conspiracy theorist tendencies in check.

  3. Politicians also call it, “Controlling the narrative.” They just leave out that a big portion of the “narrative” is “fictional.”

    And I bet the FBI has a good file on *you*! 😉

  4. Isn’t “pretexting” when you turn on your phone?

  5. I get the feeling that assingment to the Roswell office is the FBI’s punishment detail.

  6. Assignment. I’m not sure what an “assingment” would entail, but it sounds unpleasant.

  7. Assingment: when it’s your turn to sing the next solo line in the song.

Leave a Reply

