Happy Thanksgiving

A happy Thanksgiving to all who are celebrating today. I’m thankful for my wonderful family and amazing friends — including the friend who showed up this morning with this beautiful flower arrangement she’d made. I’m thankful for readers, who make it possible for me to write for a living. And I’m thankful for the community who makes this blog such a fun place to hang out online. You’re the best.

10 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. You all must be stuffing your faces, it’s so quiet in here!
    Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

  2. I know I ask people this every year… but I’ve never had a Thanksgiving, so:

    Please come tell us what you had to eat and what special things your family does over the holiday.
    (Please everybody… don’t be shy on the ‘food details’–I want to be left salivating!)

  3. Turkey, gravy, stuffing, mashed potatoes, green beans, salad, and pumpkin pie.

  4. I hope everyone had a lovely holiday. I had the same basics as meg. Although, I had GREEN BEAN CASSEROLE. Yes, the staple that was at the very first Pilgrim/Indian shindig.

    • Deej, do you remember that wonderful video that Tery and Katie made that year–showing me how to make Green Bean Casserole? That was my very first contact with it. (& then she even posted me some of those fried french onions in a can so I could have a go at making it.)
      Wonderful memories…. *sigh*

  5. This was my first year cooking without a net: my mother-in-law was unable to supervise. With help from my husband and three sons, I served roast turkey with giblet gravy and stuffing, party-whipped potatoes (mashed with cream cheese, half & half, and butter), baked squash, cheese onions, green beans, cranberry nut bread, corn bread, pumpkin pie, squash pie, and apple pie. Our tradition is leftover pie for breakfast on Friday.

    I am so thankful all three of our sons were able to be with us on Thanksgiving day.

    • Oh wow MoW, (That’s actually quite hard to say!) you’ve done it–I’m salivating!
      Those potatoes sound like the most delicious heart-attack-in-waiting kind of meal… yummy! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

