A farewell

Family

It’s New Year’s Eve and I was planning to write a year-end post on the highlights of 2012. But my mother-in-law, Eleanor Shreve, has just passed away. So instead I want to post a couple of photos of a remarkable woman who welcomed me into her family as a daughter, and who was a great mother, grandma, and friend.

Some of you might have met her — she came to Sleuthfest last year, and to the RT Convention in Orlando in 2009, where she insisted I get my photo taken with the “Mr. Romance” romantic novel cover models. That’s the supportive kind of mother-in-law she was.

The photo above was taken at my daughter Kate’s wedding in July 2011. It was a wonderful day. Later on, Eleanor joined all the single ladies for the bouquet toss, and politely let a younger gal catch it.

Eleanor

And here’s Paul’s favorite photo of his mom: her high school senior portrait.

My aunt, who knew her for many years, offered the best epitaph: “What a great chick.”

10 responses to “A farewell

  1. Eleanor was a lovely lady, always willing to engage in conversation, no matter what the age of the speaker. She gave equal attention and credence to a child as an adult, to a friend as a new acquaintance. Her easy laugh made every person feel immediately welcome in her presence. It’s no wonder that Paul is such an awesome man; his mother doted on him and yet gave him great responsibilities to shoulder. She provided love and guidance…what more could a mother do for her children? I count myself honored to have known her, to have called her my friend. Adieu, Eleanor.

  2. I’m very sorry for your loss, my condolences to you all.

  3. Meg and Paul and family, I am so sorry for your loss! I will keep you all in my prayers. And thank you for sharing Eleanor (and the rest of your lives) with us.

  4. My condolences to you and your family, Meg. I hope 2013 brings only good things to you all!

  5. I am fortunate to have a few great chicks in my life right now. I don’t know what I would do without them.

    I’m very sorry for your loss, Meg & Paul. Sincere condolences to you and your family.

  6. Meg, you and your family are in my prayers and thoughts.

  7. How lucky you are to have had such a great relationship with your mother-in-law and for all of you to have had her in your lives so many years. Saying good-bye is so hard. My prayers are with you and your family.

  8. Thanks, all. I appreciate the good wishes.

  9. Sorry for Paul’s and you loss, Meg. Sounds like you have some great memories to treasure.

  10. I am so sorry to read this. It’s tough to lose anyone, but especially a great chick who just happens to be your mom. 😦

Leave a Reply

