Off to London. Start talking.

Today I’m traveling from Austin to London. So consider this an open thread. What’s everybody listening to? Watching? Reading?

To entertain you while you talk amongst yourselves, here’s some music from The Love Ways.

Why yes, the drummer is indeed my kid. Why else do you think I’m posting the video?

12 responses to “Off to London. Start talking.

  1. That’s my boy!

  2. He still plays with the same gusto he did 10 years ago.

  3. I’m re-reading Peter F. Hamilton’s massive space opera series that begins with Pandora’s Star, with Judas Unchained on deck. I’ve been listening to a lot of the Tedeschi Trucks Band, lately. They play a heady brew of Southern rock, blues, jazz, and funk; if that sounds a bit like the Allman Brothers Band, there’s good reason for that, as Derek Trucks is/has been a member of both. Check out their version of Everybody’s Talkin’ on YouTube.

  4. I’m reading Justin Cronin’s “The Twelve”, and I have “Darkly Dreaming Dexter” going on CD in the car. Tonight I’m headed to hear author Luis Alberto Urrea speak at Aurora University, another favorite author. He wrote “Hummingbird’s Daughter”, “Into the Beautiful North” and “The Devil’s Highway.”

  5. Having just installed a CD/MP3 player in my car, I am listening to my 60s collection. When not listening to “fossil” music, I am listening to Steve Hamilton’s novels on CD.
    Reading The Panther by Nelson DeMille. DeMille has finally put his two best characters together in this one. John Corey and Paul Brenner. Let’s see, someone else did that not too long ago. Hmmmmm.
    Watching Justified, The Americans and Big Bang Theory. Rented Life of Pi which turned out to be an extremely good adaptation of the novel, always a tricky thing.

    • Rich, I loved the first four John Corey novels, but ran into a brick wall with The Lion. I’m curious to hear what you think of The Panther.

      • Hi Eddie, Sorry for the delay in replying. First off, I have read everything by DeMille. I just love his style, especially the Corey novels. I was curious as to why you ran into a wall on The Lion. I thought it was great. That being said, I would doubt you’ll like The Panther. In the whole 625 pages there was maybe a good 75 pages of action and drama. Mostly it was non stop wisecracks from Corey. I particularly liked teaming Corey and Kate with Paul Brenner. I hope he does it again but with the first person narration from Brenner. don’t know if this helps you decide but enjoy, one way or another.

  6. Re-reading The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper. But The Twelve is next on my list.

  7. Finishing Hamlet, then reading the LAST book of the year for AP class — The Stranger. Then it’s open season for reading again!!

  8. I watched a documentary today on Netflix on Ayn Rand. I’m reading a Ray Bradbury book. I’m going to sleep the weekend away because I am almost positive I have whooping cough. Yes, I play a doctor in my own home. I am also working on 5 quilts simultaneously.

Leave a Reply

