What movies and books have you skipped?

It’s confession time. What famous movies have you never seen? What classic books have you never read?

I’ll go first.

I’ve never seen Citizen Kane. Or The Bodyguard.

I’ve never read Harry Potter. Or Catcher in the Rye.

I know. It’s shameful. In fact, a couple of years ago my children were so horrified to learn of the modern classics I’d never read that they bought me a bunch of them for my birthday. One of those was Salinger’s iconic book. And today it’s on my office bookshelf, 5,000 miles away, waiting. Kids, don’t kill me.

Anybody else?

13 responses to “What movies and books have you skipped?

  1. Stacy McKitrick

    I’m with you on the books, haven’t read them either. But I have seen those movies. I’ve never seen The Godfather nor The Godfather Part 2 (and I don’t wish to).

  2. Same. I’ve never read Catcher or any of the Potter books. I’ve seen Citzen Kane. Too many other great books. I also haven’t read In Cold Blood or Moby Dick. Sad

  3. michaelharling

    I saw Citizen Cane but missed (on purpose) The Bodyguard. I read both The Catcher in the Rye and all the Harry Potter books, but I have not read To Kill a Mocking Bird or 1984, even though both of them have been sitting on my bookshelf for years. I tried to read Moby Dick, really, I did…got 1/3 of the way through.

  4. I’ve never read the Hunger Games or Harry Potter! Although I just saw the Hunger Games movie and it made me want to read it. I only read Twilight, the first book just to understand what this mad crazy frenzy was about. I think it’s about how she describes Edward CONSTANTLY. However, I do recommend Catcher in the Rye. I’d like to read that again, actually….

  5. Never read The Hobbit or Lord of the Rings.

    There, I’ve said it.

  6. Susan now qualifies for The Bookmark O’ Shame. :>)

  7. I never saw E.T. *raises shield to deflect rainstorm of random objects*

  8. I never read Catcher in the Rye, and I’m pretty OK with that decision.

  9. I haven’t seen Citizen Kane, The Godfather Part II, or A Man for all Seasons. I haven’t read Don Quixote, On The Road, or The Road, for that matter. Come to think of it, as a huge SF fan, I haven’t read Stranger in a Strange Land, which is the only thing I’ve listed that I feel does not indicate a flaw in my character.

  10. I have not seen Citizen Kane either. Or It’s a Wonderful Life. I just watched On The Waterfront for the first time a week ago.

    I have read Moby Dick and you aren’t missing a thing. I’ve never read any Jane Austen (except with zombies.)

Leave a Reply

