That’s right, I’m not from Texas. But I’m in Austin.

BpaHxftCcAA5oEz

Over the past few weeks I’ve realized that plenty of people don’t know that I have officially, one hundred percent moved to Austin. Mainly this happened at CrimeFest in Bristol. And at the Starbucks on the High Street in Cobham, England, where they nodded when I walked through the door, as though I hadn’t been gone for six months. But yes: I am officially a resident of the Lone Star State. I have a Texas driver’s license and say “y’all” without even thinking about it. I can even wear my cowboy boots unironically.

After living for so many years in the UK: Yes, I miss England terribly. Yes, I am fantastically happy to be back in the USA.

Yes, my Oklahoma relatives will have to cope with the fact that I’m living across the Red River in Longhorn country.

Yeehaw.

Leave a Reply

