Roundup: Ouija Boards, Haggis, Books

I find the weird links, so you don’t have to.

First up:

Three American friends hospitalised after becoming ‘possessed’ following Ouija board game in Mexican village

My mom would never let us kids play with a ouija board, and now I know why.

Alexandra Huerta, 22, was playing the game with her brother Sergio, 23, and 18-year-old cousin Fernando Cuevas at a house in the village of San Juan Tlacotenco in south-west Mexico. But minutes into it, she apparently started ‘growling’ and thrashing around in a ‘trance-like’ state.

Meanwhile, Sergio and Fernando also reportedly started showing signs of ‘possession’, including feelings of blindness, deafness and hallucinations.

Paramedics “restrained Alexandra to prevent her from hurting herself, before treating the three with painkillers, anti-stress medication and eye drops, which seemingly worked.”

Good to know that the next time I and my friends get demon-possessed, eye drops will save us. So if you see somebody chasing me down the street with an eye dropper, relax.

Next, we go to Scotland:

Car-sized haggis smashes World Record

A haggis weighing over a tonne has stormed into the Guinness Book of World Records.

Is this thing sentient? Did it kick down the door and deliver a list of its demands?

The monster dish, which came in at 1.01 tonne (2,227lbs), was unveiled at Scotland’s Royal Highland Show in Edinburgh.

Be on the lookout, people.

And finally, if you want to know which books have been keeping me up at night, head over to Writers Read.

I’m also reading Eric Schlosser’s Command and Control: Nuclear Weapons, the Damascus Accident, and the Illusion of Safety. It’s a history of America’s nuclear weapons program, and it’s riveting.

More at the link.

7 responses to “Roundup: Ouija Boards, Haggis, Books

  1. Ok, I hate to be the batty old lady here, but what does everyone REALLY think about Ouija boards? I am having this discussion with a friend who has bought one for her daughter as a birthday gift. I am reasonably educated, and like to think I’m not superstitious, but I think they are bad juju, best avoided. I’m not big on psychic mediums, but I’ve heard many of them warn against Ouija boards & none recommend them. Opinions, please?

    • I agree that they can have bad juju. I’m not superstitious either, and do not believe ouija boards connect players with spirits/the deceased/demons/the beyond. But I think suggestible people can frighten themselves when they play. Terribly, if the story above is to be believed.

      I’m not surprised that some mediums warn against ouija boards. The cynic in me says: of course they do. Ouija boards cut out the professional middleman.

  2. HAHAHA! True. But would you buy one for YOUR kids?

  3. I’ve often wondered if the Gullible Living use a Ouija Board to contact the Dead, do the Gullible Dead have a Nonnein Board to contact the Living?

Leave a Reply

