Me, talking. About movies, books, and who I’d trade places with for 24 hours

I’ve been shooting my mouth off.

10461954_748612171847172_5638215908966490323_n

First, to Suspense Magazine, which asked me about the thrillers I’m reading. International Thriller Writers Reader’s Corner: Book recommendations by Meg Gardiner.

The Fever, Megan Abbott. Abbott could scribble a grocery list and it would be lyrical and frightening. In The Fever, a mysterious contagion sweeps through a suburban high school, sending girls into seizures. What’s causing it? What secrets will it force into the daylight, with awful consequences?

I have more recommendations at the link.

0814MOVIES_GRIT_medium

Second, for its annual Pop Culture Issue, the American Bar Association Journal asked some law types to talk about movies: 12 Pivotal Movie Scenes with Lessons for Lawyers. Here’s how my contribution opens:

True Grit (2010)

Hailee Steinfeld stars as Mattie Ross, a 14-year-old Arkansas farm girl who sets out to “avenge her father’s blood” after he’s murdered. To track and capture the killer, Mattie needs to hire U.S. Marshal Rooster Cogburn (Jeff Bridges). But all her cash has gone to pay the undertaker. Unless she can raise money, the murderer will escape. So Mattie goes to an auctioneer who did business with her father shortly before his death, and she conducts a negotiation that reduces the man to pudding.

Finally, at Jen’s Book Thoughts, I answer five questions for her Five on Friday feature.

1. The most bizarre question I was ever asked in an interview was: At a bookstore event, an audience member approached me. “I want to write a bestseller,” he said. “But I hear that to be an author, you need to be mentally unstable. Are you?” While I was gaping at that, my husband walked up. The man turned to him and asked, “Is your wife crazy?” I think I said something like, “Only on the full moon.” The man didn’t buy any books.

Read the rest if you want to know my favorite movies, whose life I’d like to live for 24 hours, the most beautiful place I’ve visited, and what’s on my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

