10 books that have stayed with me

On another social media hangout (the one founded by Mark Zuckerberg), several friends and relatives tagged me to play a game. Fortunately, it didn’t involve breaking and entering, or even singing in public. The challenge: name 10 books that have stayed with me over the years.

Here’s my list:

The Stand, Stephen King
Love in the Time of Cholera, Gabriel Garcia Marquez
The Right Stuff, Tom Wolfe
Seabiscuit, Laura Hillenbrand
Into Thin Air, Jon Krakauer
A Wrinkle in Time, Madeleine L’Engle
Get Shorty, Elmore Leonard
The Sound and the Fury, William Faulkner
A Stained White Radiance, James Lee Burke
The Making of the Atomic Bomb, Richard Rhodes

These aren’t the only books that have stayed with me, of course. They’re ten that really packed a punch. They’re books I’ve read more than once, or shoved excitedly into friends’ hands, insisting that they be read now. They’re books that have haunted and inspired me for years.

If anybody else feels like playing: add your list in the comments.

13 responses to “10 books that have stayed with me

  1. Here’s mine:

    To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
    IT, Stephen King
    The Garden of Last Days, Andre Dubus III
    Gone Baby Gone, Dennis Lehane
    Olive Kitteridge, Elizabeth Strout
    Lord of the Flies, William Golding
    Midnight’s Children, Salman Rushdie
    Black Cherry Blues, James Lee Burke
    Right as Rain, George Pelecanos
    A Canticle for Leibowitz, Walter Miller

  2. 1) Raptor by Gary Jennings
    2) The Prince Of Tides by Pat Conroy
    3) The Stand by Stephen King
    4) Mayday by Nelson DeMille and Thomas Block
    5) Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
    6) Will by G. Gordon Liddy
    7) I Know This Much Is True by Wally Lamb
    8) Stormy Weather by Carl Hiaasen
    9) A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore
    10) What’s The Worst That Could Happen? by Donald E. Westlake

    These are not necessarily in order of favorites but I loved each and everyone of them the same.

    • Stormy Weather was my introduction to Carl Hiaasen, and after I read it, jaw hanging open, laughing, I thought: with enough verve and chutzpah, a writer can get away with anything. It inspired me to really go for it in my own writing.

      A particular line from that book stays with me: “They broke camp at dawn — Max Lamb, the monkey, and the man called Skink.”

      Another great list!

      • Stormy weather was also my introduction to Hiaasen. I would have to say my all time favorite novel is Prince Of Tides because reading Conroy is like reading a symphony. No one can touch him for pure writing. Raptor is my favorite saga with the most intriguing protagonist I have ever read and I read a lot. I average between 80 and 90 books a year.

  3. In no particular order:
    1. The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings- Tolkien
    2. IT- King
    3. The Talisman- King and Straub
    4. The Stand- King
    5. Triptych- Karin Slaughter
    6. All the Pretty Girls- JT Ellison
    7. A Song of Ice and Fire- GRRM
    8. Suffer the Children- John Saul
    9. Sam Capra series- Jeff Abbott
    10. Your own Jo Beckett series…having a MS in forensic psych makes me really appreciate them

    • Good going there, sliding in several series so as to include as many books as possible. And thank you so much for letting me know you enjoy the Jo Beckett books, and why.

  4. Here goes:

    1) Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card
    2) Speaker for the Dead – Orson Scott Card
    3) Childhood’s End – Arthur C. Clark
    4) Watchers – Dean Koontz
    5) Watership Down – Richard Adams
    6) A Lonely Resurrection – Barry Eisler
    7) The Day of the Jackal – Fredrick Forsythe
    8) The Hunt for Red October – Tom Clancy
    9) Team of Rivals – Doris Kearns Goodwin
    10) To Green Angel Tower – Tad Williams

  5. Johnny Got His Gun (Dalton Trumbo)
    A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving)
    The Things They Carried (Tim O’Brien)
    With Malice Toward None: A Life of Abraham Lincoln (Stephen B. Oates)
    Jane Eyre
    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
    No Ordinary Time: Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt (Doris Kearns Goodwin)
    Huckleberry Finn
    The Poisonwood Bible (Margaret Atwood)
    To Kill a Mockingbird

    Meg, if I had more room, I’d also include A Wrinkle in Time, Slaughterhouse Five, The Sound and the Fury, Into Thin Air and The Right Stuff. Plus my guilty pleasure and ONLY romance fav, The Thorn Birds.

  6. Love in the Time of Cholera is absolutely amazing.

Leave a Reply

