A great night at the Edgar Awards

Edgar Nominees

Last night I had a fantastic time at the Edgar Awards in New York City. The place was packed, and lively, and everybody looked spiffy. Maybe it’s because I got to see so many friends, and to shake hands with writers I adore. Maybe it’s because I was a judge this year for Best Paperback Original, and it was fantastic to greet each of the authors who wrote the wonderful books I was privileged to read, and our judging panel was privileged to nominate. It was a special evening, and I’m delighted that I could be there to applaud and see everybody accept their awards.

MG_PS

The Husband got to come along as arm candy, and I got to wear a badge with JUDGE written on it. I got to meet James Ellroy, and to hang out with Karin Slaughter, Alafair Burke, and Hank Phillipi Ryan. I saw Ian Rankin in a suit. And the fabulous Sara Paretsky, new president of Mystery Writers of America, looking stunning in an off-the-shoulder gown. I got a hug from Stephen King, and met his wife Tabitha.

The photo at the top is of Best Novel nominees Ian Rankin, Stephen King, Karin Slaughter, Stuart Neville, and Wiley Cash. (Mo Hayder, herself a previous winner, couldn’t make it.) Congratulations to my favorite author, who won the night’s biggest award for Mr. Mercedes.

pbo1secrethistory

And enthusiastic congratulations to Best Paperback Original winner Chris Abani, whose novel The Secret History of Las Vegas blew me away. In his acceptance speech, he said that his first novel, written when he was a teenager in Nigeria, got him three years in jail. Last night was a far different turn of events. I’m thrilled I could be part of it.

Here’s a list of all the winners.

One response to “A great night at the Edgar Awards

Leave a Reply

