Writers I’m thankful for

Bookshelf

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving. It’s time to give a shout out to some writers I’m thankful for.

A.A. Milne, for taking me on lovely expotitions with Pooh and Piglet when I was a child. And for giving me the Winnie-the-Pooh stories to read to my own children when I was grown.

Walter Farley, for pulling me and my nine-year-old friends back to the library again and again to check out the Black Stallion novels.

Carolyn Keene — every damn version of her — for Nancy Drew.

Ray Bradbury, for introducing me to the world of science fiction and dark fantasy when I was twelve.

Ron Hansen, for teaching me that stories need a beginning, a muddle, and an end. And for encouraging me to send out a story I wrote in his college creative writing class. That validation gave me courage.

Sue Grafton, for opening my eyes to the possibilities available for women writing mysteries. And for Kinsey Millhone.

Stephen King, for making me love and cry for the characters in The Stand, all the while scaring me to death.

Stephen King, for everything he’s done for me.

And my everlasting thanks to the teachers who imparted their love of literature to me: JoEllen Hansen in fifth grade, Peg Harris in tenth, and, of course, my dad, Frank Gardiner, from the day I was born.

I’m lucky, and grateful.

7 responses to “Writers I’m thankful for

  1. We have a lot of favorite authors in common.
    But near the very top of my list is Walter R. Brooks, creator of Freddy the Pig. I loved those stories as a child. Now, as an adult, their humor delights me. The stories are good, but only Walter Brooks would ever think of describing a beetle as “motherly.”

  2. I loved The Stand, too but I’m most grateful to Stephen for his ‘On Writing’ which has been a huge influence on me!

  3. Glad to hear the books that matter to you. 🙂

  4. I agree with all of those! And I would add you to my list as well as Karen Russell and Louise Fitzhugh for Harriet the Spy.

  5. And I hope you tried some green bean casserole.

Leave a Reply

