My favorite books, movies & TV of 2015

December is zooming like a rocket sled toward the end of the year. So how about a few Best-Of lists?

My favorite movies of 2015:

Mad Max: Fury Road
Ex Machina
Bridge of Spies
Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation
The Martian

Note that I still have a few movies to see this year, including Creed and Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Oh, who am I kidding? I’m going to add Star Wars to the list.

Favorite TV shows:

The Jinx
Fargo
Better Call Saul
Game of Thrones
House of Cards

Again, I still have to catch up on Mad Men, and am just getting into some shows like Mr. Robot and The Americans.

Favorite books outside of crime/suspense/thrillers:

The Skies Belong to Us: Love and Terror in the Golden Age of Hijacking, Brendan I. Koerner
A Man Against the World: The Tragedy of Richard Nixon, Tim Weiner
Underworld, Don DeLillo
Abaddon’s Gate, James S.A. Corey
Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel

I read a wealth of amazing crime and suspense novels this year. So many, in fact, that I need to sort through them and post those later.

How about everybody else?

6 responses to “My favorite books, movies & TV of 2015

  1. I liked Dr Who until Peter Capaldi came…

    I also liked Stalker, until they stopped producing it…

    I also liked Forever, until they stopped producing it…

    Wow, it hasn’t been a very good TV year for me, has it?

  2. Then bring on 2016. Or forget the TV and read more books! 🙂

  3. I will also say

    House of Cards
    Better Call Saul
    The Fall
    Grace and Frankie
    American Horror Story
    The Walking Dead
    The Returned
    The Blacklist
    Little Women of L.A. (don’t judge)

  4. River
    Dicte
    The Witnesses
    Southcliffe
    Broadchurch
    Hinterland

    Okay, my list might include shows that are older, but I just watched them in 2015

  5. Movies:
    Mad Max: Fury Road
    The Martian
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens
    Bridge of Spies
    Mr. Holmes

    I haven’t seen Creed or Ex-Machina, yet.

    TV:
    (just discovered this summer) The Good Wife/Madam Secretary
    The Great British Baking Show
    Ash vs. Evil Dead
    Fargo
    The Flash
    The Walking Dead

    I have a huge teetering To Be Read pile, so while I often pick up books when they come out, I don’t actually read as many of them that soon. That said, recent books I dug this year:
    Trigger Warning – Neil Gaiman
    Slade House – David Mitchell
    The End of All Things – John Scalzi

    I haven’t finished Three Moments of an Explosion by China Mieville, but that would probably be on the list as well.

  6. Pingback: The Fargo Location Tour | lying for a living

Leave a Reply

