Ask Me Anything: favorite books, characters, mythological creature?

I’ll finish up this round of Ask Me Anything with this question from Cathie. Although now that I’m posting it, I detect multiple queries…

Howdy Meg!

I always wonder about writers and reading, so I’m curious…
Do you enjoy reading as much as you do writing? (Obviously those two things are very related but also very separate). Care to share some favorite books or authors?

If you do also enjoy reading, what do you read the most – fiction, non-fiction? What fiction genres do you read most often?

Do you have a favorite character from your novels?

And what’s your favorite mythological creature? (Random, I know!)

Also, thank you for giving me many hours of entertainment! I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read by you, which is almost all your novels so far!

Thanks, Meg!

Let me take this one question at a time.

Do you enjoy reading as much as you do writing?

Damn skippy.

Care to share some favorite books or authors?

This question can get me into trouble because (1) If I start listing favorite books and authors, I will inevitably leave some out, and then I’ll feel wracked with Catholic guilt, and (2) If I start listing favorite books and authors, I’ll never stop.

That said: Stephen King, Sue Grafton, Don DeLillo, Lee Child, Elmore Leonard, James Lee Burke, Jane Austen, Patricia Highsmith, Carl Hiaasen, Jon Krakauer…

See what I mean?

What do you read the most – fiction, non-fiction?

Fiction.

What fiction genres do you read most often?

Thrillers. And science fiction.

Do you have a favorite character from your novels?

Evan Delaney. There, I said it.

No, wait! Jo Beckett. 100%. Also: Gabe Quintana.

Actually, I’m not being honest. It’s Jesse Blackburn.

ALL RIGHT, ALL RIGHT. I’ll tell you the real truth. Mr. Peebles.

(Zoe Keller.)

And what’s your favorite mythological creature?

The raptor from Jurassic Park. The big one. “Clever girl.”

My thanks to everybody for the excellent questions.

4 responses to “Ask Me Anything: favorite books, characters, mythological creature?

  1. Hey, we have something in common! Evan Delaney is my favorite, too! I’ve asked before, but I’m not proud😃, are we ever going to hear from her again?

  2. I’m glad Evan is your favorite. Yes, I intend for you to hear from her again. Who could keep her quiet?

  3. Favorlte wrlters when ln hlgh school at DP? Be honest. Mlne were Hemlngway, Thoreau, and Tolstoy, even though the llbrary had nelther

  4. Ray Bradbury, Mario Puzo, Michael Crichton. Probably many more, but those are the ones that pop to mind.

Leave a Reply

