Hello from Thrillerfest

New York City

I’m in New York City for Thrillerfest. It’s the week when we authors descend on the city to practice the dark arts of suspense. And eat Reuben sandwiches.

Yesterday I taught an all-day workshop on writing, and this morning I taught a session on creating suspense on the page. My voice is already gone. So if you’re at the conference and strike up a conversation, I’m not giving you the silent treatment. I just can’t talk too much.

Or maybe I was struck speechless when I saw that Walter Mosley was also giving a talk to the conference: Plotting the Unconscious. WALTER MOSLEY. I sat in the front row, gasping in fangirl awe. I would have screamed like a teenager at a Beatles concert but, fortunately: my voice was already gone.

More reports to follow.

(Obligatory view from my hotel window: looking south across 42nd Street.)

2 responses to “Hello from Thrillerfest

  1. Awesome! Have a great time! And lucky folks who got to take your workshops!

  2. Enjoy every moment.

Leave a Reply

