About me

I write thrillers. Into the Black Nowhere, my latest novel, features rookie FBI agent Caitlin Hendrix. Don Winslow calls it “A terrifying and brilliant read.” It’s the sequel to UNSUB, which won the 2018 Barry Award for Best Thriller and was optioned as a TV series by CBS.

My books include The Evan Delaney novels, featuring a smart-aleck journalist from Santa Barbara, California. Stephen King calls them “simply put, the finest crime-suspense series I’ve come across in the last twenty years.”

China Lake won the 2009 Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original.

The Jo Beckett series features a San Francisco forensic psychiatrist. It includes The Liar’s Lullaby, The Memory Collector, and The Dirty Secrets Club, which was chosen one of the Top Ten thrillers of 2008 by Amazon, and won the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award for Best Procedural Novel of the year.

The Nightmare Thief, featuring both Jo Beckett and Evan Delaney, won the 2012 Audie Award for Thriller/Suspense audiobook of the year. My stand alone novel The Shadow Tracer was named one of Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books of 2013. Phantom Instinct was named one of “The Best Books of Summer” by O, the Oprah magazine.

I’m the 2019 President of the Mystery Writers of America.

Writing is my third career. Earlier, I practiced law in Los Angeles and taught writing at the University of California Santa Barbara. I moved with my family to the UK and more recently to Austin, Texas. Now I write suspense novels—a job I’m immensely lucky to have.

e-mail: meg@meggardiner.com
Twitter: @MegGardiner1
Instagram: @MegGardiner1
(Nick Berard photo)