Killer heels

I am hopelessly behind the fashion curve. Chanel’s gun-heel shoes came out in May, and I’ve only learned about them today. I could have used them on my book tour this summer. They would certainly have encouraged the cabin crew to serve Dom Perignon to the chihuahuas on my flight to New York — and perhaps saved my minion, Trixie, from being arrested for slapping the flight attendant. Sigh. I miss Trixie.

What’s that you say? No weapons, toenail clippers, or terrorist-chic fashion items are allowed near commercial aircraft? Are you so sure about that?

As I stood in the bathroom, ripping up boarding passes, waiting for the social network of male bathroom users to report my suspicious behavior, I decided to make myself as nervous as possible. I would try to pass through security with no ID, a fake boarding pass, and an Osama bin Laden T-shirt under my coat. I splashed water on my face to mimic sweat, put on a coat (it was a summer day), hid my driver’s license, and approached security with a bogus boarding pass.

If you’re guessing he got aboard, you’re right.

3 responses to “Killer heels

  1. Gun shoes–so? They’ve had stiletto heels for decades.

    What fascinates me is the concept of the Beerbelly. Or the (gagging at the name of it) Wine Rack.

  2. Meg, that article from “The Atlantic” you quoted was downright terrifying. For a fictional look at some of the same territory, try “Little Brother” by Cory Doctorow. It is one fine read.

  3. They’d make an nice addition to the ensemble that Dr. Evil’s FemBots wore!

Leave a comment