Ransom River: Find the Mystery Character

Here’s something I’ve never mentioned online. Every new book I write includes at least one character who’s appeared before in one of my novels. That’s right: all the books are linked.

Even when I’ve started a new series. Even when I’ve written a stand alone novel. There’s always one character who returns from an earlier book.

Ransom River is set in a world I’d never written about before. Its cast is new — Rory Mackenzie, Seth Colder, the whole gang — except for one character. I’m not saying who that is. I’m not telling you which series this character appeared in, Evan Delaney or Jo Beckett. Let me know if you figure it out.

In the meantime, some more reviews have been published that have made me very happy:

Mystery Scene Magazine says:

“While the plotting is fine-tuned and tight, and the mystery at the heart of this tale captivatingly suspenseful throughout, it’s the well-realized characters of Rory and Seth that help make this book so successful…. Rory is a survivor and a tough one at that. She’s also intelligent, and her drive to confront the demons of her past, which are possibly connected to the events at the courthouse, always comes off as plausible and identifiable. She’s a great main character and the pulse at the heart of this gripping read.”

Jenn’s Bookshelves calls it “an intricate yet exhilarating mystery”: “Gardiner ties all of the weaving and winding story lines together to form a completely surprising conclusion. Looking for a taut, chilling mystery to fill your weekend? Ransom River is the book for you. Highly recommended.”

And Mayhem and Magic says, “I can’t begin to tell you how much I love this story.” “This mind-blowing thriller had me consuming pages at a furious pace…. With an explosive and heart-pounding finale, this was an awesome read and I can’t wait for the next thrilling story from Meg.”

Thanks for every word of that.

6 responses to “Ransom River: Find the Mystery Character

  1. I read the book and cannot remember. Will just have to reread it. 🙂

  2. My eldest child is supposed to be buying this book for my birthday. (which was almost 2 weeks ago.) Unfortunately his girlfriend and I have birthdays a day apart… *sigh* I remember when ‘mum’ was so much higher up on his list. 😀

  3. I liked the character of Rory in Ransom River. I like to know how a character behaves in comming to terms with their past. Overall, a good mystery novel to read.

  4. I figured it out. At least for Ransom River. Now I will have to be much sharper for future novels.

Leave a comment